Special Council: August 6th 2014

Mayfield Village Civic Hall, Main Conference Room
Wednesday, August 6, 2014 at 8:00 a.m.

The Council of Mayfield Village met in Special Session on Wednesday, August 6, 2014 at the Mayfield Village Main Conference Room. Council President Buckholtz called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.

(Print friendly/PDF document)

ROLL CALL:            

Present: Mr. Buckholtz, Mr. Jerome, Mr. Marrie, Mrs. Mills, Dr. Parker and Mr. Saponaro

Also Present: Mr. Wynne, Ms. Calta, and Ms. Garbo

Absent: Mr. Marquardt, Mayor Rinker, Mr. Cappello, Chief Edelman, Mr. Marrelli, Mr. Metzung, Chief Carcioppolo, Mr. Thomas, Mr. DiNardo, Mr. Esborn, and Ms. Wolgamuth

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was given.


3 minute limit imposed by Chair. Those who wish to speak must first state their name and address.

There were no comments.

Motion appointing and authorizing Deborah Garbo to serve as the Acting Clerk of Council for purposes of this meeting and to carry out all Clerk duties including taking minutes and certifying legislation.

Mr. Saponaro, seconded by Dr. Parker made a motion to appoint and authorize Deborah Garbo to serve as the Acting Clerk of Council for purposes of this meeting and to carry out all Clerk duties including taking minutes and certifying legislation.  

Council President Buckholtz asked, any further discussion? There was none.

ROLL CALL:            

AYES: All             
NAYS: None                                    

Motion Carried. Motion Approved.

Motion to suspend the rules of Council requiring a Resolution to be read on three separate occasions.

Dr. Parker, seconded by Mr. Saponaro made a motion to suspend the Rules of Council.


AYES: All              
NAYS: None                                    

Motion Carried. Rules Suspended.

First Reading of Resolution No. 2014-25. “An emergency resolution declaring the necessity of renewing by levy a tax in excess of the ten-mill limitation and submitting the same to the electorate of Mayfield Village, Ohio”. Introduced by Mayor Rinker and Council as a Whole.

Mr. Saponaro, seconded by Mr. Marrie made a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2014-25. 

Council President Buckholtz asked, any further discussion?

Ms. Calta said this Resolution is in principal the same as what was passed on Monday night except for, we put an additional WHERAS to repeal and rescind the prior Resolutions that are no longer necessary. There was Resolution No. 2014-19 passed July 21, 2014, and the second piece of legislation was Resolution No. 2014-23 passed August 4, 2014, both being repealed and rescinded. This will then take its place. Just to let everyone know, we received the certificate and was issued yesterday. We’re set to have this passed and taken to the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections today by the deadline of 4:30 p.m. 

Mr. Jerome asked when the new tax will start.

Mr. Wynne replied, 2014 taxes are paid in 2015. This will start in tax year 2015. This will be adjusted again in 2019.

ROLL CALL:            

AYES: All          
NAYS: None                                    

Motion Carried. Resolution Adopted.


Mrs. Mills, seconded by Dr. Parker, made a motion to adjourn.

The meeting adjourned at 8:15 a.m.  

Respectfully submitted,

Deborah Garbo, Acting Clerk of Council