ARB - April 23rd 2015

April 23, 2015

The Architectural Review Board met in regular session on Thurs, April 23, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. at the Mayfield Village Civic Center Conference Room. Chairman DiNardo presided.

(Print friendly/PDF)


Present: Mr. Ron DiNardo (Chairman), Mr. Joshua Klein (Chairman Pro-Tem), Mr. Ivo Tombazzi (arrived 7:25 pm), Mrs. MaryAnn Wervey (arrived 7:25 pm), and Mr. Carmen Miozzi

Absent: None  

Also Present: Mr. John Marrelli (Building Commissioner) and Ms. Deborah Garbo (Secretary)


Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Mr. Klein made a motion to approve the minutes of April 9, 2015.


Ayes: Mr. DiNardo, Mr. Klein, Mr. Miozzi 
Nays: None                         

Motion Carried. Minutes Approved As Written.


  1. Addition
    John & Jennifer Jurcisek
    721 Robley Ln.
    Bishop Construction, LLC
    (Follow-up ARB 4/9/15)
  2. New Single Family
    Parkledge Construction, LLC
    New Townhomes

    S/L #22 831-13-042 (6608 SOM Court)
    S/L #23 831-13-043 (6612 SOM Court)
    Parkledge Building Co.
    Bogart Architecture, Inc
  3. Ground Sign
    Villaggio Salon & Spa
    6449 Wilson Mills Road
    Boyer Signs



John Jurcisek
721 Robley Ln
(Follow-up ARB 4/9)

Chairman DiNardo called the meeting. This is a follow up from the April 9th ARB meeting.  

Dan Bishop, Bishop Construction displays sample materials. 

Shingles; Owens Corning TruDefinition Duration Architectural shingle product. Homeowner hasn’t selected a color, they said any earth tone color that matches the brick on the house will work. The existing shingle is an old mix with a little brown & amber. Shutters will stay white.  

Siding; HeartTech 5” double lap. Crème color is an option. Whatever we put on the 2nd floor, we’ll end up wrapping the back. There’s a poorly done bow window in the back. We’ll raise that up, side & wrap it to match.

  • Consensus following review of shingle sample colors is to go with “Brownwood”.
  • Consensus following review of siding sample colors is to go with “Sand”.


Chimney’s; The two chimney bricks & caps will match. Both will be the same height & same shape.

Dan Bishop submits two sets of electrical drawings to John for review & approval. When the plumber pulls his permit, he’ll submit his drawings.


Mr. Klein, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made a motion to approve the Addition for John & Jennifer Jurcisek at 721 Robley Ln as noted.     


Ayes: Mr. DiNardo, Mr. Klein, Mr. Miozzi    
Nays: None                                        

Motion Carried. Drawings Approved As Noted.


Parkledge Construction, LLC
New Townhomes
S/L #22 831-13-042 (6608 SOM Court)
S/L #23 831-13-043 (6612 SOM Court)

Chairman DiNardo moves to second proposal.

Jeff Bogart, Bogart Architecture, Inc states this is another in the series of units that we’re building. It’s extremely similar to the ranch, but we made some modifications for a couple reasons, the market being one. The plans that were distributed have since been revised. We had to push one unit way back because of the lot setbacks.

Scott Miller, Parkledge Building Company states, we have three lots left. This is the last of the double ones. This is the south side of the ravine. This will finish the two attachments that are left and then we’ll have two singles, one on each side. 

Jeff Bogart said the second floor plan doesn’t change. Pulling this unit back will change the roof lines. The ridge line before was 6 inches off, now it’s several feet. It’s better now, we get better massing. We widened the units because we have more land for these particular ones. The only other major change is on the side, we added this dormer coming out the side here and here to accommodate the partial second floor, a bedroom and bathroom.

Jeff said the volume that was encompassed within building a ranch we never did anything with, because people at that time just wanted ranches. Now people are saying it would be nice if they had a little room upstairs. The other units we had a lot of space upstairs, it was just too much for most people.

Scott Miller said I sent an e-mail out to the Homeowners Association Board asking them to get the information out about tonight’s meeting to all the residents. Everybody’s happy with it. This is maybe 200 sq. ft. less than most of the two stories. It’s the same price as the larger unit because prices and costs have gone up. I gave them the price range and everybody seems to be very happy.

Chairman DiNardo said you did a nice job making it compact. It functions very well.

Jeff Bogart thinks it’s a nice improvement. The color scheme is the same, details the same, brick, doors, windows, all the same. The roof line, the dormers on the side are the real changes. It’s always nice when you make some minor modifications, you get the diversity.

Scott Miller concludes, this gives them a 3rd version in that neighborhood.


Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Mr. Klein made a motion to approve New Attached Townhouses at S/L # 22 (6608 SOM Ct) & S/L #23 (6612 SOM Ctr) for Parkledge Development:

  • Elevations Approved as submitted.
  • Jeff Bogart to submit construction drawings.



Ayes: Mr. DiNardo, Mr. Klein, Mr. Miozzi    
Nays: None                                        

Motion Carried. Drawings Approved.


Villaggio Salon & Spa
6449 Wilson Mills Rd.
Ground Sign


Proposal & drawings submitted by Boyer Signs.
Representation by Business Owner.

Chairman DiNardo said this is a modification of the existing sign.

George Argie, Gargiso Properties, Ltd said only the top part of the original sign was lighted. I want to have the whole sign lighted. The lighting is interior. The height remains.

Nick Biondillo said we’re using the existing base, just cutting some of the brick out.

George Argie said font is the same. 

Chairman DiNardo asked, what will you cap the top of the masonry with when you cut it?

Nick Biondillo replied, Roloc. It’s a double sided sign. The sign will be extended over so the drip edge will be over it, it’ll run off ½” – ¾” so the water doesn’t sit there.

Mr. Marrelli asked about the electrical.

George Argie replied, electric is already in place. We just have to hook up.

Mr. Marrelli asked, are you doing LED’s inside?

Nick Biondillo replied, LED or something efficient. It’ll be something not too bright. They’re individual panels.

Mr. Marrelli states the size meets requirement and the location’s not changing.

Chairman DiNardo asked about the offset color in the Villaggio Salon & Spa portion. Is your intent to give it a little flare? George Argie said yes, it’s a subtle color.


Mr. Klein, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made a motion to approve the Ground Sign for Gargiso Properties, Ltd at 6449 Wilson Mills Rd.


Ayes: Mr. DiNardo, Mr. Klein, Mr. Miozzi     

Nays: None                                        

Motion Carried. Boyer Signs Drawings Approved.


  • Charter Review


Chairman DiNardo said the Law Director put together an e-mail for the members on the request for the Building Commissioner to have the ability to vote. We wanted to make sure there’s no conflict because you’re on Planning and Zoning & Board of Appeals.

Mr. Marrelli asked Chairman if he worded it that the request gives the Building Commissioner the ability to vote only in the case there is not a quorum or to break a tie. Chairman confirmed.

Mrs. Wervey & Mr. Tombazzi arrive @ 7:25 p.m.

Chairman continued, we’ve gone through the Charter. All the items have been discussed as of yesterday. At the next meeting, we’ll go through the items that we voted on that we moved onto Council for their review.

Chairman DiNardo acknowledged the Student in the audience and asked if she has any questions.

Student states she’s from West Geauga High School here tonight for a School project for her Government Class. Is this the usual process that took place at tonight’s meeting? 

Chairman DiNardo explained a little history of each proposal and the voting process.


There being no further business, Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Tombazzi made a motion to adjourn the meeting.


Ayes: All                              
Nays: None                          

Motion Carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.