ARB - June 5th 2014


June 5, 2014

The Architectural Review Board met in Special session on Thurs, June 5, 2014 at 7:30 p.m. at the Mayfield Village Civic Center Conference Room. Chairman Dinardo presided.

(Print friendly/PDF document)


Present: Mr. Ron Dinardo (Chairman), Mr. Ivo Tombazzi, Mrs. MaryAnn Wervey, and Mr. Carmen Miozzi

Absent: Mr. Joshua Klein (Chairman Pro-Tem)

Also Present: Mr. John Marrelli (Building Commissioner) and Ms. Deborah Garbo (Secretary)

CONSIDERATION OF MEETING MINUTES: April 24, 2014 & May 22, 2014

Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Mr. Tombazzi made a motion to approve the minutes of April 24, 2014.       


Ayes: Mr. Dinardo, Mr. Tombazzi, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Miozzi                   
Nays: None                                        

Motion Carried. Minutes Approved As Written. 


Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Mr. Tombazzi made a motion to approve the minutes of May 22, 2014.       


Ayes: Mr. Tombazzi, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Miozzi 
Abstain: Mr. Dinardo                         
Nays: None                                      

Motion Carried. Minutes Approved As Written. 


  1. Building Signage
    6681 Wilson Mills Road
    Cicogna Electric & Sign Co., Inc



Chairman Dinardo called the meeting to order beginning with Organizational Meeting 2014. We don’t have a full quorum, but we’ll go through with it anyway. I spoke with Joshua earlier and he’s agreed to serve as 2014 Pro Tem if nominated.



Chairman Dinardo entertained a motion for Election of Chairman, Chairman Pro Tem, and Secretary for the Architectural Review Board 2014 nominations.

Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made the motion to nominate Ron Dinardo as Chairman, Joshua Klein as Chairman Pro Tem, and Deborah Garbo as Secretary.

Chairman Dinardo asked if any discussion. There was none.

The nominations were closed.

Chairman Dinardo asked for a Roll Call on the nominations, the group as a whole.


Ayes: Mr. Dinardo, Mr. Tombazzi, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Miozzi     

Nays: None                        

Motion Carried.
Ron Dinardo to serve as 2014 Chairman
Joshua Klein to serve as 2014 Chairman Pro Tem
Deborah Garbo to serve as 2014 Secretary

Chairman Dinardo thanked everyone for agreeing to serve in the positions.


Orange Leaf Yogurt
6681 Wilson Mills Rd.
Building Signage

Chairman Dinardo asked Orange Leaf Yogurt Franchisee to explain the new business.

Paul Cook, Franchisee said it’s a real fun concept where you self-serve frozen yogurt, eight machines, each one has two flavors. There’s a topping bar with fresh fruit, nuts & candies. One machine’s dedicated to smoothies. It’s similar to Menchie’s. We’re store 409 in the Country, based out of Oklahoma City. It started in 2010 and did $610,000 in sales. In 2011 they did $21 million. It’s the fasting growing franchise in the United States under $200 million. When people walk inside, they say “Wow, this place makes you feel good”. They’ve gotten onto something with the colors, decoration, couches, and Wi-Fi. It’s a destination place. There are hundreds of flavors, sold by the ounce. Orange Leaf has to approve the location. They weren’t going to approve here because they weren’t allowed to have their colors on the window. They explored the demographics and the area, then agreed to it. They’re o.k. with the black & white sign.

Chairman Dinardo said this is a special meeting just to accommodate you. We welcome you to the Village. We’ll try and work with you on what you’re proposing.

Jerry Helsel with Cicogna Sign Co. introduced himself. As Paul said, Orange Leaf is a National franchise. A lot goes into the corporate branding. They’ve made concessions on a couple things. We sought the landlord approval for the typical type signs that go into this plaza. They’re individual channel letters mounted on a back lit panel, very similar to what’s out there now. What we’re proposing is in line with what’s out there now, square footage wise within what the confinements are per the code and confinements for the landlord. The building itself lends itself to a little bit of a unique characteristic because the front entrance is actually recessed back.

For minute reading purposes, the proposal includes a building sign and the Orange Leaf Yogurt logo on a separate elevation.

Jerry Helsel said what we’re proposing, and that’s why it’s shown on two elevation drawings, we have the logo separate from the rest of the name. The company felt it was important to have the logo as part of their name, and that’s above the door. The bulk of the sign is going over the space between the columns that’s centered in line with the other tenants in that elevation.

Chairman asked if they’re allowed to put signage on the door in orange.

Mr. Marrelli replied yes. I spoke to the owner about that. In lieu of putting a second sign, if you could do this in a decal and put it on the door. The whole idea is for people to find that door.

Chairman doesn’t have a problem with the symbol up top, but thinks he should have the same symbol on the door.  

Mr. Marrelli asked, why can’t you take this signage and put it over the inset over the door instead of over the window. 

Jerry Helsel replied, their demising wall is literally right to the left of that door.

Mr. Marrelli said be ready for other people to come in for more sign parts. This will be the only suite that has 2 signs for it.

Frank Cicogna, President Cicogna Sign Co. said Yours Truly has 3 signs.

Mrs. Wervey said we have sign criteria for the plaza.

Frank Cicogna said according to Mr. Musca, it met the criteria with no problem. We also used logos on Pizza Roma, so logos are fine.

Mr. Marrelli said Pizza Roma’s logo is on their same sign. If you put the logo next to the Orange Leaf sign, that’ll be like Pizza Roma.

Frank Cicogna said we tried that. Where the demising wall is to the right of that space, it would cause the lettering to be very small because that’s the largest panel we could put there.

  • Dimensions


Jerry Helsel said they’re only 17” letters. In comparison to everyone out there, they’re smaller.

Mr. Marrelli said they don’t exceed the square footage, it’s an aesthetic thing.

Jerry Helsel said you have about 19 ½ sq. ft. of signage including the logo. Going to both demising walls, he has 20 feet of frontage total. That includes that recessed area.

Mr. Marrelli said you’re allowed 1 square foot per lineal foot of frontage, so you have 30’.

Jerry Helsel said we have about 19 ½. They don’t count the back of the panel. Just the copy.

Mr. Marrelli asked, why would you not count the back?

Frank Cicogna replied because we’ve never done it before.

Jerry Helsel said my understanding through checking the code and with the landlord, it’s just the copier of the signage, not the plaques the sign goes on. We draw a rectangle around the highest points of the copy.

  •  Signage Criteria for Village Plaza / Musca Properties


Mrs. Wervey said my opinion is this. We try to be consistent across the board with what you did last time. We asked the owner to put together criteria and we’re trying to apply that criteria fairly and consistently on all the tenants. I think we have to apply the same logic to this tenant as we did to everybody else.

Mr. Marrelli said when we were showing the whole shopping center, there was a sign in this block and a sign in that block. Now, the way the space has been split up, it doesn’t work.

Frank Cicogna said if there’s any reason for the ARB approval, in the 20 years I’ve been doing this is when we have a true hardship, and this is a hardship in my opinion.

Mrs. Wervey said that’s your opinion. We know what our job is. I’m discussing this with the Board.

Paul Cook asked, am I allowed to have signage on my entire frontage?

Mr. Marrelli replied you’re allowed one square foot of signage for each lineal feet of frontage of your store. If your store’s 20 feet wide, you can have 20 sq. ft. up in the air.

Paul Cook said it seems like you don’t like the logo split up from the main sign.

Mr. Marrelli replied that’s correct because we’re going to end up with somebody else wanting to do the same thing on the next one, then we’ll have little pieces of signs in all these spots. 

Jerry Helsel said I don’t know that there’s another tenant space area like this. 

Mr. Marrelli asked, what if somebody sub-divides their space and they want to put another sign next to their sign that’s already there? When we redid this whole plaza, everything was uniform, of uniform size, of uniform spacing and now you’re coming and saying it’s not going to work for this one, you want to do something different.

Frank Cicogna said this is the only one like this.

Mr. Marrelli asked, you can’t live without this over your door, and not put something on the door?

Paul Cook replied, I’m sure I would survive.

Mr. Marrelli said it’s up to you guys. I guarantee it, and I’ll put my paycheck on it, when you do this, another request will come in.

Chairman Dinardo said we have Tommy V’s, Glow Tan, Future Sub Shop, then there’s Orange Leaf. This one is difficult because it jets out in front of the windows.

Mrs. Wervey states it would be helpful to have the Center’s guidelines that we had agreed to with the Owner.

Ms. Garbo retrieved Musca Properties new signage minutes & plan approvals from 2011. To determine what was agreed to in terms of uniform signage, letters, backer plates & certain lighting levels, refer to:

  • ARB approved plans dated Sept 8, 2011 by Cornerstone Architecture.
  • BOA Minutes of Sept 20, 2011.


Mr. Miozzi wants to know if the backer panel dimensions are included. 

Frank Cicogna said I can tell you absolutely positively we did not include the backer panel dimension in any of the other permits. We went by the maximum height and length of the letters. Mr. Marrelli thinks Frank is right.

Mrs. Wervey asked if the 2011 signs went to the Board of Appeals.

Mr. Marrelli replied yes, 2/3 of the signs have variances.

  • Colors & Lighting


Chairman Dinardo asked about colors. Looks like it’ll be back lit.  

Frank Cicogna replied all uniform, black letters, same specifications as the other signs.

Chairman Dinardo said there’s been so much controversy on blurred lighting and not being able to read the signs from far away. Have you seen the lighting in the evening?  Jerry has seen the sign lighting at night.  Chairman said we had a lot of conversation after those signs were installed. We want to make sure that doesn’t happen again.

Mr. Marrelli reviews the 2011 approved sign plans for the strip center. What happened is where it stated “Future Tenant”, it’s now split up to two tenants.

Mr. Marrelli said not that we don’t want you to have your sign, we just can’t open Pandora’s Box because somebody wants to sell a sign.

Frank Cicogna said I’m not trying to sell a sign here, I’m trying to make the tenant successful.

Mr. Marrelli asked, in your opinion would this logo on the door suffice to get a customer to that door?

Frank Cicogna replied, absolutely.

Paul Cook said at first we tried to put a sign over part of Yours Truly space, decided that wasn’t the way to go, that this here is the way to go. Orange Leaf is new to Columbus but there’s over 30 stores in Ohio. The company wants to have 2,000 stores in the next 5 years. I thought it was a great idea to have the logo over the door, it really grabs you.  

Mr. Marrelli said just so you know, we tried to be uniform with the sizes of the plaques along the whole front wall. The logo throws it off.

Paul Cook said it’s tough because the way the building was laid out.

Mr. Marrelli said they redid the whole Center. We had the whole sign program laid out. We gave out 8 variances in Sept of 2011 to get this all uniform. 

Mrs. Wervey said we also had the Owner agree to criteria that each tenant would comply with.  

Mr. Marrelli said correct, that it would have a backing plate, same letters, all be uniform. Now that’ll go out the window.

Frank Cicogna said no it’s not. We’re following to the letter. No two signs at that Center are exactly the same, but the criteria is the same. The same color black, same treatment to the face, same LED, same back lighting.

Mrs. Wervey said the criteria probably said each tenant may have one sign. If you brought that paper in, we wouldn’t be arguing about it because we’d be reading it and we would know exactly what the criteria was that was agreed to the last time you were here.

Frank Cicogna said it’s not my job to bring your paper work in.

Mrs. Wervey clarified it was the Landlord’s paper work. The Landlord was going to apply it to his Center on an ongoing basis. That was the agreement.

Frank Cicogna said I know we followed the specifications to the letter.

Chairman Dinardo notes that Glow Tan & Spa is illuminated with LED lights.

Frank Cicogna reminds the Board that Cicogna did not install the Glow Tan sign. That’s the one set of lettering, on that building that did not follow the criteria at all. That’s the only set of lettering that’s completely different. If you look at that in the daytime, you can clearly see that none of the criteria was followed and the city did nothing about it to change it or make it conform to the rest of the signs. I did not install it, I did not permit it.

Mr. Marrelli said they did the size properly.

Frank Cicogna said they did not John. The letters are white, they’re supposed to be black. The return/edges are 4-5 inches wide and nobody cared.

Mr. Marrelli said I did notice and I did talk to the guy and we went around and around with the tenant. They asked if they had to have that. 

Frank Cicogna said absolutely, it’s in the criteria.

Mr. Marrelli said I wish you had that criteria to show me.  

Frank Cicogna said if the city really doesn’t care about the color of the return, the side of the cabinet, then I stand corrected. I thought you cared about that. I thought it was supposed to be black because that’s what we called out on every sign.

Mr. Marrelli notes the minutes say letters to be black during the day and illuminated white at night.

Frank Cicogna said that’s the illumination part, not the returns.

Chairman Dinardo, getting back to Orange Leaf sign, this lighting will be similar to everyone else, LED and back lit.

Frank Cicogna said front lit and back lit.

Mrs. Wervey said when we discussed Plaza signage with the Landlord, he said this would be their criteria and they would provide it to their tenants as they came in and they would follow the written criteria. It wasn’t the city that was going to monitor the Landlord criteria.

Paul Cook said unfortunately for me I’m trying to put up a sign and happen to be caught up in this conflict that preceded me. I don’t see how this is going to open a can of worms.

Frank Cicogna replied it’s not.

Paul Cook said it’s the only space that has the offset. That’s why we have to do something different. I think it really accents the architectural feature of the building.

Mr. Marrelli said we need to do what we need to do tonight. He needs to open.

Frank Cicogna said every other sign in the Center is exactly the same as ours except for Glow Tan. We didn’t do CVS either, but the criteria was followed to the letter on CVS.

Chairman said the Franchisee has seen the lighting on the current signs and it’s acceptable.

Frank Cicogna said you must follow conformity so it’s not even an issue.

Mrs. Wervey said I wouldn’t want blurry lighting.

Frank Cicogna said it doesn’t make any difference if the criteria says it’s going to be the way it is.

Mrs. Wervey said I would then say shame on us and shame on you for building something that’s blurry.

Frank Cicogna asked, shame on us for bringing in a sample that we all looked at together? If someone is to blame, then we all are to blame. We brought samples in, held them up, we turned the lighting on, turned your lights off. We did everything we could. We all looked at it. We all approved it. A lot of people love them, although some people don’t. When you take a picture of them, the picture is greatly distorted from what you really see.

Mrs. Wervey states, I disagree with you.

Frank Cicogna said o.k., but if you were to open a store there, you must conform. You have no say. 

Mr. Marrelli said maybe there was too many light bulbs in that made it bleed out. All I know is our comments were; “Why are they so blurry?” I’m not a lighting expert, I can’t tell you. 

Frank Cicogna said there’s not a sign company in America that’s a lighting expert. We are all trial and error.

SUMMARY Chairman Dinardo said right now what’s on the table to approve is a sign that’s lit internally and from the back with LED lighting.

Mr. Marrelli said they’re within the code as far as square footage. We still haven’t resolved the uniformity issue.

Chairman said we’re o.k. with the colors. We’re o.k. with the design intent, except for the separate logo over the door.

Frank Cicogna said for the record John, I never remember making any specification sheet of any kind. I presented drawings.

Mr. Marrelli thinks the Landlord did.

Frank Cicogna said the Landlord never did.

Board Members briefly review 2011 submission minutes & plans. Chairman notes that several meetings took place at that time.

Mr. Marrelli said when we walked away from it, everybody felt like this was pretty simple, a tenant’s going to have a plaque with their name on it and it’s going to be this type of lettering. Lee Ann Sole from Cicogna did the presentation in 2011.

Mrs. Wervey goes back. The tenant space is 20 ft. in width. On the part where Orange Leaf is, what is your width of your rental space along this frontage?

Jerry Helsel replied 20 feet.

Mrs. Wervey asked Jerry if there’s a way to slide the sign over and pull the logo next to it.

Jerry Helsel replied it can only be done by reducing the size of the sign by at least 30%. It’ll go down to 1’ tall. The tallest letter now is 17 ½ inches. To make room, I have to make everything shorter to make it fit.

Frank Cicogna said it’ll be impossible to read. We’re supposed to keep our setback from the demising wall.

Paul Cook does not like that option. Aesthetically you want it to be framed.

Mrs. Wervey said, I’m trying to be creative and figure a way to give you what you want.

Jerry Helsel states, we did the same thing, played with literally dozens of designs. We submitted everything to Joe Musca, the same way every other tenant does, assuming he reviews the criteria, and approves it based on what’s been approved. We thought the only question would be because of the split frontage, his sign has to be split. 

Mrs. Wervey said believe it or not, we’re trying to help you in moving forward. If you weren’t under a time constraint, I’d say table this until we get written criteria from the Landlord. Here we are in a Special meeting being berated by your sign vendor.

Paul Cook said I have no control over him.

Mrs. Wervey asked, did you hire him? You do have control over him. If he was one of my consultants and I brought him to a meeting, I’d certainly put him in his place. Anyway, we would table this and do it correctly, but we’re trying to move you forward.

Paul Cook said I appreciate that very much.

Mr. Marrelli placed the sign package on the table that this Board signed & approved on Sept 8, 2011. Do you want it amended?

Chairman Dinardo said this puts both Mary Ann & I at a disadvantage because we were not in attendance for that meeting.

Mr. Miozzi said even if you were, you would not have foreseen this situation tonight. We assumed each tenant space would have its own same size front with a flat plaque, one per space.

Mr. Marrelli said some of the bigger ones like Yours Truly, they fought tooth and nail to get two signs. We called it a corner. We were generous. They got two. They have another bay down here, so they got three.

Chairman Dinardo said right now the lettering that spells Orange Leaf is a no brainer. That meets all the criteria, it’s acceptable. Lighting & color are o.k.

Mrs. Wervey recommends approving the lettering sign tonight and come back with the Landlord criteria and decide whether adding this is consistent with the criteria that was agreed to.  

Mr. Miozzi doesn’t think he’s going to want the sign approved without his logo.

Chairman asked, can he put the logo in his door? Mr. Marrelli said yes.

Chairman asked, does your company want the signage up before you open?

Paul Cook replied yes.

Mr. Marrelli asked, if they make a sign out of the logo over the door, will it be lit?

Paul Cook replied yes.

Frank Cicogna said the question is, will Orange Leaf allow you to open without their logo on their sign? You had told me that the previous store couldn’t open because they didn’t have the correct letter font.

Mr. Marrelli asked, does it have to be on the building above the door illuminated or could it be on the door below the parapet?

Discussion ensued on an option to build a box out to center the sign & logo.

Consensus it that would be an eyesore, unattractive.

Mr. Marrelli thinks the renderings were to get a feel for the uniformity. We harped on uniformity throughout all these meetings. They came in with an attractive proposal, nicely spaced letters within a few inches of the same size, same size plaques based on frontage of the suites. Everything was all organized and well done. Then now his door isn’t where it’s supposed to be.

Frank Cicogna said we tried 20 different drawings before we came up with the one tonight.

Mr. Marrelli said we’re down to getting that sign to have the lettering and the Leaf on one plaque.

Chairman Dinardo wants to conclude. The Board will approve the signage that it can, the letters. The owner may or may not put a logo on his door. What if we have a removable sign in a temporary format that we can look at? Is that possible zoning wise? Am I speaking out of turn here?

Paul Cook concerned who would pay for that temporary sign.

Frank Cicogna said what you’re asking to do is easily done. I can do that today. The problem is the way you’re asking, non-illuminated, just a panel up there, it’s not going to look at all what it looks like. This is a very very very 3-dimensional thing. Your flat panel isn’t going to be representative of anything. It’s going to look horrible. Other than the logo being separated from the panel, I understand, but this is the only spot in the Center. One day if this ever happens again, just treat it the same way.

Paul Cook said there’s a lot of frozen yogurt out there. It’s presentation that makes things sell. We don’t want to do something that’s not classy & attractive. I appreciate you’re trying for a compromise here.

Mr. Marrelli said I’m having a little bit of a hard time with this logo over the door that’s by itself in the middle of nowhere.

Jerry Helsel said it’s a two edged sword, it’s a unique benefit of that logo that screams here’s where I go in. When you pull in here, walk through 4 rows of parked cars, everybody looks up, not down.

Mr. Marrelli said this town is so small it’ll take everyone about 10 minutes to figure out you’re there.

Paul Cook can’t survive on the Village alone.

Mr. Marrelli asked, do you think the logo will bring them to your door and not the name?

Discussion ensued at this point on various options.

Chairman Dinardo said I’m not defending you, but if you went through 20 variations of the sign.

Frank Cicogna said it’s taken us 6 weeks to come up with what we feel is exactly the sign criteria except for the fact that the logo for the first time is separate from the actual lettering. 

Mr. Marrelli asked if the font can be changed.

Paul Cook replied, I’m not allowed to change the font. That is specifically specified through the sign company out West, Pinnacle Sign. 

Jerry Helsel brings attention to the “R”, that means we can do nothing. That’s a registered trademark.

Paul Cook said and we really don’t want a lot on the door. We want people to be able to see in the store.


Chairman Dinardo asked if anyone has any further discussion. If not, what we have on the table is what’s presented in front of us. The only thing in question is the additional sign over the door because of the offset in the canopy because the Landlord redesigned the front of his shopping center.

Mr. Marrelli said today what we can do to memorialize this is make a motion to approve what he’s got and to modify the approval from 2011 so that if we ever run into this again, where a tenant has a split space with two elevations for advertising, we have a plan for it.

Chairman Dinardo recommended follow up with the Landlord to make sure we have his sign criteria.

Note: Following the meeting, Joe Musca, Musca Properties, LLC was contacted. Mr. Musca responded; “We never did submit a sign criteria package because we put language in the lease to have the tenants get sign approval from the Village”.

Motion #1

Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Tombazzi made a motion to approve the Orange Leaf Yogurt sign itself, lighting & colors as presented as noted.   


Ayes: Mr. Dinardo, Mr. Tombazzi, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Miozzi  
Nays: None              

Motion Carried.  Approved As Noted.

Chairman Dinardo opened discussion for secondary sign logo.

Mr. Tombazzi asked, why couldn’t that one be extended with rods to the face of the brick, like the sign itself?

Paul Cook states, I would absolutely not want that.

Chairman Dinardo said maybe we need to TABLE this secondary sign over the door and revisit after reviewing the uniformity standards set by the Landlord.

Mr. Marrelli asked, can you put this logo in your doorway, in the glass behind the door and light it?

Jerry Helsel replied, I don’t think you’d see it, it’s tinted glass and you have a 5’ recessed canopy, it’s very dark. Then you have to think about the visibility in your door.

Mr. Marrelli said, not in the door, behind the door. Are you going to have lighting in your store, i.e. neon?

Paul Cook replied, I can put a lot of decorations inside, but that’s not what we’re here to discuss. We’re here to discuss the sign on the front of the building.

Mr. Marrelli said I’m trying to figure out how to get your logo visible from the street.

Paul Cook said I appreciate that, but I’d have to go back to them and re-submit. This has been approved by the Landlord and by Orange Leaf. Just a little insight, I’m a retired Fireman. I’ve invested my life savings in this, $300,000.00. I’d like to get opened.

Mr. Miozzi said we have this situation here with an elevation change. We have to come up with some solution.

Various options are put on the table & discussed. One option involves the sign coverage for the future tenant space next door to Orange Leaf Yogurt and requesting an agreement to that affect from the Landlord.

Paul Cook doesn’t want to deviate from original proposal. 

Mr. Marrelli states, because of this unusual situation here, we’re going to do the next best thing with this disconnected space. Keep in mind this will go against the uniformity standard. 

Mrs. Wervey states, this is a physical hardship.


Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made a motion to allow for the disconnected sign over the door because of the projection difference. Note that it’s one sign in two locations, shared square sign footage.   


Ayes: Mr. Dinardo, Mr. Tombazzi, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Miozzi  
Nays: None              

Motion Carried. Drawings Approved As Noted.

Rescind Motion #1

Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Mrs. Wervey made a motion to rescind the motion to approve the Orange Leaf Yogurt sign itself.


Ayes: Mr. Dinardo, Mr. Tombazzi, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Miozzi  
Nays: None              

Motion Carried.

Mr. Marrelli asked, are we going to have these both on the same timers so they go off at the same time?

Jerry Helsel replied, yes.


There being no further business, Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made a motion to adjourn the meeting.


Ayes: All                               
Nays: None              

Motion Carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:30 p.m.