ARB - December 8th 2016

ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD
MEETING MINUTES
Mayfield Village
Dec 8, 2016

The Architectural Review Board met in regular session on Thurs, Dec 8, 2016 at 7:30 p.m. at the Mayfield Village Civic Center Conference Room. Chairman Parker presided.     

ROLL CALL

Present: Mr. Ed Parker (Chairman), Mrs. MaryAnn Wervey, and Mr. Joshua Klein

Absent: Mr. Carmen Miozzi (Chairman Pro Tem ) and Mr. Ivo Tombazzi      

Also Present: Mr. John Marrelli (Building Commissioner) and Ms. Deborah Garbo (Secretary)

CONSIDERATION OF MEETING MINUTES: July 28, 2016

Consideration of minutes deferred to next meeting date.  

CONSIDERATION OF MEETING MINUTES: Oct 27, 2016

Mr. Klein, seconded by Mrs. Wervey made a motion to approve the minutes of Oct 27, 2016. 

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Mr. Parker, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Klein

Nays: None                           

Motion Carried - Minutes Approved as Written.   

CONSIDERATION OF MEETING MINUTES: Nov 10, 2016

Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Klein made a motion to approve the minutes of Nov 10, 2016. 

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Klein

Abstain: Mr. Parker        

Nays:  None              

Motion Carried - Minutes Approved as Written.

PROPOSALS:

  1. Monument Sign
    Weston, Inc., 600 Beta Drive
    Wireless Environment
    JF Signs, LLC
  2. Building Signage
    Premier Development Partners, 6655 Beta Drive
    MARS Electric
    Glavin Industries, Inc.
    (BOA 12/20/16)

OPEN PORTION:

Monument Sign
Weston, Inc, 600 Beta Drive
Wireless Environment
JF Signs, LLC

Chairman Parker called the meeting to order beginning with monument signage at 600 Beta Drive and asking the applicant to state his name for the record.

Joel Frezel with JF Signs introduced himself. We have a double face illuminated monument sign with a 2’ high brick base. The overall size of the sign (each face) is 4’ high and 8’ wide @ 32 sq. ft. for a total of 64 sq. ft. There’ll be two tenant panels. There’s one tenant in the building now. There’re anticipating a second tenant. There’s also the 600 Beta Drive which will be flat cut out ¼” aluminum plate black letters, internally illuminated, and they’ll light up white in the evening. The bottom masonry base will be managed by Weston with a round Weston logo.

Chairman Parker asked about the brick base.

Joel Frezel replied, I haven’t picked out the actual brick at this point. It’ll be similar to the drawing here with the capstone.

Mr. Marrelli asked, what does that match?

Joel Frezel replied, it’s similar to the color of the building.

Mr. Marrelli said, they’re supposed to be putting up a dock wall in the front if the second tenant comes.

Joel Frezel said, they didn’t tell me about that. Not a problem, I could coordinate with them and use a similar material for continuity.

Mr. Klein notes that there’s a good chance the dock wall won’t get built if they don’t get the tenant. Whatever material is used on the sign, they’ll have to match.

Mr. Marrelli states, if I were you, I’d go to the Architect and ask him what his materials are and use those materials, so that when he builds his, he’ll match your sign.

Joel Frezel agreed.

Mrs. Wervey asked for clarification on the address; 600 or 6000 Beta?

Mr. Marrelli replied, 600 Beta. When it turns the curve going east west, it changes to four numbers. 

Chairman Parker asked about an existing sign.

Joel Frezel replied, there’s no existing sign at this point. There’s a For Lease sign there now.

Mrs. Wervey asked if a variance is required for the setback.

Mr. Marrelli replied, he’s at 30 feet back. He’s within code, no variance required.

Joel Frezel said, there’s some signs on Beta that look a lot closer than 30’.

Mrs. Wervey thinks 30’ back might be too far. Mayfran is next to you and their sign is much closer to the road, can’t be more than 10’ back and that distance looks right to me. You might want to relook at that.

Joel Frezel said, once I get approval here, I’ll stake it out and have them look at it. It really doesn’t hurt anything being closer, 10’ or 15’ from the road, there’s nothing in the line of site.

Mr. Marrelli said, line of sight is usually what that rule is for.

Chairman Parker asked, if there’s another tenant that comes in, do we need to see the sign?

Mr. Marrelli replied, it’s just letters at that point.

Chairman Parker asked, do we want it to have the white background like this one does?

Mr. Marrelli replied, it’ll have to be consistent. This black lettering on the white background will have to be repeated on the bottom. You’re setting the template right now.

Joel Frezel said, the only thing that could be different is a different color logo.

Mr. Klein states, I think the main thing is that the masonry has to match the proposed dock wall.

DECISION:

Mr. Klein, seconded by Mrs. Wervey made a motion to approve the proposed Monument Sign for Weston, Inc at 600 Beta Drive as noted.

ROLL CALL:

Ayes: Mr. Parker, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Klein      

Nays: None

Motion Carried. Drawings Approves As Noted.

**************************************************************************

Chairman Parker welcomed the student in the audience and invited her to introduce herself.

Stephanie Zbigien from Notre Dame Cathedral Latin introduced herself. I’m here observing tonight for my government class.

Building Signage
Premier Development Partners, 6655 Beta Drive
MARS Electric
Glavin Industries, Inc

David Glavin with Glavin Industries introduced himself. I’ll start with the two canopy signs. The one that says “Counter & Will-Call” is about 750’ back from the street. The other one that says “Office Entrance” is around the back of the building facing absolutely nothing.

Mrs. Wervey asked, how many signs John is he allowed by code?

Mr. Marrelli replied, one square foot per lineal foot frontage of the building. The building is huge.

Mrs. Wervey asked, what’s your divided premise?

David Glavin replied, 440 lineal feet and QED portion is about 340 lineal feet. These are rough approximations.

David Glavin states, the next sign we have to go to the BZA for the size. These are channel letters over the docks. The MARS space begins 440’ back from the street. The channel letters don’t begin for another 210 feet. So, the channel letters begin at 675’ from the street and end 62’ later. We want them over the dock areas. The first 10’ or so of the letters might parallel the building next door. The rest of it is parking lot.

Mr. Marrelli said, not to get into the zoning issue of it, and I voiced my concern to David previous to this. Our trail goes right by the face of that building. Those are going to be big from the trail and they’ll be lit at night. I don’t know how often they’ll be lit during the day.

David Glavin said, for someone walking that trail at night, it might provide additional safety.

Mr. Marrelli replied, that’s true.

Chairman Parker asked, who are you advertising to? I feel like you’re advertising to the people who have already made it back there.

David Glavin replied, they have new people coming all the time, new vendors and all the contractors they do business with.

Chairman Parker said, what I’m getting at is maybe smaller monumental sign wayfinding would be better. You’re advertising to this parking lot. Here’s the Police Station and I know once you drive by here, you can’t see much past.

David Glavin said yes, the angle is very severe. Three things; it’s the Corporate Headquarters, the Regional Service Center that services other branches and it’s a local branch. So they got all sorts of people coming all the time. They want people to be able to find them.

Mr. Marrelli said, there’s going to be a sign which is being constructed now out by the driveway. That was approved little over a year ago.

Chairman Parker said, this needs to get approved for a variance. What are we looking at?

Mr. Marrelli replied, you’re looking at colors & style. The size is going to the Zoning Board. In their defense, we don’t really want semis driving around looking for people either. It’s 95,000 sq. ft. of warehouse.

Mrs. Wervey asked, why did you settle on that size?

David Glavin replied, I brought samples from three different sign sites on the web saying that the optimum reading distance for 60” letters is 600 feet. The sign begins at 650’, a little past optimum.

Chairman Parker states, it looks right proportionately.

David Glavin said, I drove by there tonight before this meeting. The trees were all trimmed high enough that I could see the end of that building from my car on Beta. 

Chairman Parker said, I’m thinking about that guy on the bicycle riding by, there is a sense of security here. It’ll be illuminating that path.

Mr. Marrelli asked if the letters will be dimmable.

David Glavin replied, we haven’t anticipated that.

Mr. Marrelli asked, how much light will you cast off the property?

David Glavin replied, we’ll have an Engineer calculate that. We anticipate that question at the BZA meeting.

Mrs. Wervey said, the building next to this has glass.

Mr. Marrelli said, that’s the Progressive Discovery building meeting place.

David Glavin said, I don’t think it’ll have much impact on that building. 

Mr. Marrelli said, we don’t know how bright this will be at night. There’s no photometric done yet. The question is, if you’re in the Discovery building at night for a function, is this thing going to light up the inside of your building?

Chairman Parker said, there’s codes on how much spill you could have on the property.

Mr. Marrelli said, ours says you can’t have anything past the property line. It should only glow. It shouldn’t light up the ground outside their building, it shouldn’t light up their building.

David Glavin said, our Engineer will have that information for the BZA meeting.

Mr. Marrelli said, Progressive has been notified of the upcoming BZA meeting.

Mr. Marrelli asked, what’s the makeup of the letters, what’s the light source?

David Glavin replied, LED. I don’t know the intensity at this point.

Mr. Klein said, it’s important they be dimmable, in case you get complaints, you could dial it down.   

Mr. Marrelli said, my fear is once it’s up there, if it’s really bright and people are starting to get upset, now how are you going to deal with it? I’m trying to put this all out on the table now.

Mrs. Wervey states, maybe part of the approval could be a condition that you could turn it down if it’s too bright.

Mr. Marrelli replied, the question becomes how bright is too bright? We use the same criteria for parking lot lighting. It has to be inside the property line.

Mrs. Wervey asked, what would their operating hours be?

David Glavin replied, your code says that they have to be off by 11:00 p.m.

Mr. Marrelli added, or one hour after they close. I’m not sure what their hours are.

Chairman Parker said, if you’re on SOM, with a 5’ letter, you might actually be able to see that as you peak back.

Mr. Marrelli said, it would be hard. The Skoda Minotti and Discovery buildings are in the way.

Mrs. Wervey said, when you’re out there, it’s pretty darn far.

Chairman Parker asked, if BZA rejects it, does it come back to us?

Mr. Marrelli replied, no.

Chairman Parker states, as far as the signs, I think they look good.

David Glavin states, if the size were to change, we’d keep it centered on that cornice.

DECISION:

Mrs. Wervey, seconded by Mr. Klein made a motion to approve the proposed Building Signage for Premier Development Partners at 6655 Beta Drive as noted.

  • Applicant scheduled for Board of Appeals on Dec 20th for area & letter height variance.

ROLL CALL:

Ayes: Mr. Parker, Mrs. Wervey, Mr. Klein      

Nays: None                                      

Motion Carried. Drawings Approved As Noted.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, Mr. Klein, seconded by Mrs. Wervey made a motion to adjourn the meeting to go into discussion regarding A.R.B. review of municipal projects.

ROLL CALL:

Ayes: All
Nays: None

Motion Carried. Meeting adjourned at 8:08 p.m.

Note: Following adjournment, with all Members present, discussion ensued regarding procedure and protocol of review of municipal projects.